Registered Chiropractors

  • Dr Tim Cooper – Chairperson
  • Dr James Burt – Deputy Chairperson
  • Dr Stacey Medway
  • Dr Edward Benson-Cooper
  • Dr Chad Esaiah

Lay Members

  • Ms Liz Hird
  • Ms Tia Warbrick

The Board operates on a collective responsibility principle.

Board members are paid for their time while carrying out Board business.  It is not unusual for Board members to spend up to 15 days per year on Board business.

Board Members

Dr Tim Cooper – Chair

Dr Tim Cooper is a registered Chiropractor currently practising in Royal Oak Auckland. He is the owner and founder of Optimum Health Chiropractic.  Prior to completing his Bachelor of Chiropractic Dr Cooper graduated with a BSc in Physiology and Pharmacology from Auckland University. Dr Cooper was a member of the inaugural class at the New Zealand College of Chiropractic and is the second Chiropractor ever to qualify from a New Zealand Institution. He has been in private practice for over 20 years.  Dr Cooper mentored for many years in the student clinic at the New Zealand College of Chiropractic prior to the birth of his two children.  Believing in a holistic approach to practice Dr Cooper has focused on building an eclectic and broad range of skills bringing them together in the care of his clients. These include; applied human biomechanics, mechanical engineering, fabrication, music performance and teaching as well as contemporary comparative religious and spiritual studies.   Dr Cooper was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in April 2019.

Ms Liz Hird – Lay Member

Ms Hird LLB (Hons) is a lay member who has been a barrister since 1987 and has a wide ranging commercial and administrative law practice. She has had a long involvement in community health, beginning with the founding of the Otaki Women’s Health Group in 1987. She was also an initial member of the Otaki Community Health Committee of the Area Health Board and founding trustee and current chairperson of the Otaki Community HealthTrust, which provides community grants for health projects.  In 2014, Ms Hird was reappointed a District Inspector of Mental Health Services for Manawatu, Wairarapa, Tarawhiti and Wellington, and a District Inspector for Intellectually Disability Services for the lower half of the North Island.   Ms Hird has been a lay  member of the Chiropractic Board of New Zealand since 2013. 

Dr James Burt – Deputy Chair

Dr Burt is a registered chiropractor, graduating from Palmer College (USA) in 1975 . He has been in private practice in Rotorua and Tokoroa since 1976.  He is also registered to practice in the United Kingdom.  He has been a long serving member of the New Zealand Chiropractors’ Association Council for 23 years. Dr Burt was elected President in 1984 and again in 2007 until 2011.  He was awarded Chiropractor of the Year in 2010. He graduated with a Bachelor of Law in 1999 and admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor in the High Court of NZ, Rotorua Registry.  He was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in May 2013. 

Dr Chad Esaiah – Chiropractor

Dr Chad Esaiah is a 1999 NZCC inaugural graduate with over 18 of his 22 years’ experience in private practice.  He has been an active member of the NZ Chiropractor’s Association since 2000.  He has also served 11 years in the NZ Armed Forces and 4 years as an automotive engineer for the NZ Automobile Association.  Before COVID-19 forced restrictions to international travel, Dr Chad regularly travelled to his ancestral home of the Cook Islands providing chiropractic care to the people of Rarotonga and Aitutaki.  He has two adult sons who still love to head out on adventures with their dad, whether it’s a road trip, surfing, fishing, camping, or exploring the towns and coastline of New Zealand.

Dr Stacey Medway – Chiropractor

Dr Stacey Medway is owner and Principal Chiropractor at Knox Rehab Clinic, Dunedin. Stacey graduated from the Welsh Institute of Chiropractic (part of the University of Glamorgan) in 2012 and immediately relocated to Dunedin. Coastal Otago has become home and offers an incredible opportunity to be a very hands-on parent whilst balancing the needs of a growing business. Having been a member of local business organizations, Stacey has been able to develop an ability to communicate the benefits that chiropractic can offer whilst cultivating skills in people management and business mentorship. Coming from a background in customer service and personal training, Stacey aims to provide a comprehensive care package to patients that’s both evidence based and practical to gain the best possible long term health benefits.  Stacey was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in June 2020 and looks forward to becoming an active board member by committing time and effort to help further grow relations both within the chiropractic profession and other allied health professions. 

Tia Warbrick, Te Arawa, Ngāti Tūwharetoa – Lay Member

Tia Warbrick is a lay member who has over 25 years experience in the public sector.  Tia leads a consulting company providing management and policy services spanning a range of portfolios, and has worked within a range of organisations including Te Arawhiti, Te Puni Kōkiri, the Waitangi Tribunal and State Services Commission.  She has a specific interest in the Crown’s efforts to build true and practical partnerships with Māori for the benefit of all New Zealanders.  In 2017, Tia was appointed as a board member of the post-settlement entity responsible for leading the social, cultural, environmental and economic growth of Ngāti Rangitihi, and she is also chair of the associated Charitable Trust.  Tia believes that increasing visibility of, and access to, a range of health services is key to improving holistic wellbeing.  Tia was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in June 2020.

Dr Edward Benson-Cooper – Chiropractor

Dr Edward Benson-Cooper is a registered Chiropractor, graduating from the New Zealand College of Chiropractic in 2012. After qualifying Edward relocated to Queensland, Australia where he worked for two years, gaining new skills and knowledge from mentors both local and international. Upon returning to New Zealand, Edward founded Harbourside Chiropractic and Health House, a multidisciplinary health clinic located in Milford, Auckland which he continues to own and operate.  

Edward has significant governance experience, serving two consecutive terms on the Waitematā District Health Board (WDHB) and holds a number of trusted positions on various Committees, two of which he Chair’s and Deputy Chairs. Additionally, Edward is a Trustee for the Wilson Home Trust and the Three Harbours Health Foundation and previously served as a Board member for Health Link North. 

Edward continues to gain a wealth of clinical expertise and knowledge, and has a strong interest in strength, conditioning and functional movement. Dr Benson-Cooper was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in June 2021.

Board Staff

Glenys Sharman – Registrar – General Manager

Glenys joined the Board as Registrar-General Manager in December 2018.

Leanne Davis – Deputy Registrar

Leanne Davis joined the Board in August 2014.