Our Responsibilities

Our Role

The Chiropractic Board is a statutory body operating under the provisions of the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (the Act).  Part 6 of the Act sets out the functions of the Board as follows:

  • to prescribe the qualifications required for scopes of practice within the profession and for that purpose, to accredit and monitor educational institutions and degrees, courses of studies, or programmes;
  • to authorise the registration of health practitioners under this Act and to maintain registers;
  • to consider applications for annual practising certificates;
  • to review and promote the competence of health practitioners;
  • to recognise, accredit and set programmes to ensure the ongoing competence of health practitioners;
  • to receive and act on information from health practitioners, employers and the Health and Disability Commissioner about the competence of health practitioners;
  • to notify employers, the Accident Compensation Corporation, the Director-General of Health and the Health and Disability Commissioner that the practice of a health practitioner may pose a risk of harm to the public;
  • to consider the cases of health practitioners who may be unable to perform the functions required for the practice of the profession;
  • to set standards of clinical competence, cultural competence and ethical conduct to be observed by the health practitioners of the profession;
  • to liaise with other authorities appointed under the Act about matters of common interest;
  • to promote education and training in the profession;
  • to promote public awareness of the responsibilities of the authority;
  • to exercise and perform any other functions, powers and duties that are conferred or imposed on it by or under this Act or any other enactment.

As soon as practicable after the end of each financial year, the Board must deliver to the Minister of Health a report on the operation of the Board during that financial year. 

About Us

The Minister of Health is responsible for the appointment of Board members which includes calling for nominations from a variety of sources within and outside of the chiropractic profession. Once these nominations are received, the Minister appoints persons for a term of generally three (3) years. Appointees are able to be re-appointed, the legislation limits members time on the Board to nine (9) years. The current Board members are:

Registered Chiropractors

  • Dr Kristin Grace - Chairperson

  • Professor Stefan Pallister- Deputy Chairperson

  • Dr James Burt

  • Dr Blair Apperley

  • Dr Gordon Winter

Lay Members

  • Ms Kiri Rikihana

  • Ms Liz Hird

The Board operates on a collective responsibility principle.

Board members are paid for their time while carrying out Board business.  It is not unusual for Board members to spend up to 15 days per year on Board business.

Board Members

   Dr Kristin Grace

    Dr Grace is a registered chiropractor and Diplomat to the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology    (DACBR)   who currently practices with her husband John in Gisborne, New Zealand. She also has a      private Chiropractic Diagnostic Imaging consultation service working with chiropractors and health care professionals around the world. Dr Grace has held academic positions as Department Chair or Head of Diagnostic Imaging with Parker College of Chiropractic, New Zealand Chiropractic College and the Welsh College of Chiropractic and has been involved at various levels with Chiropractic Examining Boards in the United States, New Zealand and the UK.

Professor Stefan Pallister, Deputy Chairperson, Chiropractor

Professor Pallister is a registered chiropractor who is currently in practice in Carterton.  Professor Pallister was appointed foundation Head of School at Murdoch University in Perth on the establishment of the chiropractic programme at that institution. He brings specialist understanding of chiropractic education to the Board.

Dr James Burt - Chiropractor

Dr Burt is a registered chiropractor, graduating from Palmer College (USA) in 1975 . He has been in private practice in Rotorua and Tokoroa since 1976.  He is also registered to practice in the United Kingdom.  He has been a long serving member of the New Zealand Chiropractors’ Association Council for 23 years. Dr Burt was elected President in 1984 and again in 2007 until 2011.  He was awarded Chiropractor of the Year in 2010. He graduated with a Bachelor of Law in 1999 and admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor in the High Court of NZ, Rotorua Registry.  He was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in May 2013. 

Dr Blair Apperley - Chiropractor

Dr Apperley is a registered chiropractor who has been practicing in Wellington since 2002. He completed undergraduate studies in New Zealand, before obtaining a Masters in Chiropractic at Macquarie University in Sydney. In addition to Chiropractic, Dr Apperley holds degrees in Psychology and Philosophy from the University of Auckland. He is extremely interested in activities that restore and maintain lifelong health. He is New Zealand’s only current Certified TACFIT instructor.  Dr Apperley has worked as a foreign entry examiner and then chief examiner for the board from 2011-2014.  Dr Apperley was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in July 2015. 

Dr Gordon Winter - Chiropractor

Dr. Winter is a registered chiropractor who graduated from Northwestern College of Chiropractic (USA) in 1998 with B.Sc (Human Biology) and Doctor of Chiropractic degrees.  Before moving to New Zealand in 2011 he practised in the UK, where he was the team chiropractor for several professional football teams, including his hometown team Everton.  He has clinical interests in functional neurology, clinical nutrition, and rehabilitation.  Dr Winter was appointed to the Chiropractic Board in July 2015.

Lay Members

Ms Kiri Rikihana 

Ms Rikihana (Ngati Raukawa, Te Ati Awa, Ngati Toa Rangatira) is from Wellington and is currently self-employed as a Health Policy Consultant. She completed a Bachelor of Social Science (Maori) and Bachelor of Laws at the University of Waikato and has been admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand. Ms Rikihana also holds a certificate in Life Coaching from Australia's Life Coaching Academy. She was a member of the Nelson Marlborough DHB (2004-2007), a member of the Poumanawa Oranga Maori Development Organisation in Blenheim (2004-2006) and Convenor of the National Kaitiaki Group of the Ministry of Health (2003-2006). Ms Rikihana joined the Board in February 2014.

Ms Liz Hird 

Ms Hird LLB (Hons) is a lay member who has been a barrister since 1987 and has a wide ranging commercial and administrative law practice. She has had a long involvement in community health, beginning with the founding of the Otaki Women’s Health Group in 1987. She was also an initial member of the Otaki Community Health Committee of the Area Health Board and founding trustee and current chairperson of the Otaki Community HealthTrust, which provides community grants for health projects.  In 2014, Ms Hird was reappointed a District Inspector of Mental Health Services for Manawatu, Wairarapa, Tarawhiti and Wellington, and a District Inspector for Intellectually Disability Services for the lower half of the North Island.   Ms Hird has been a lay  member of the Chiropractic Board of New Zealand since 2013. 

Board Staff

Angela Sinclair - Registrar-General Manager

Angela Sinclair joined the Board as Registrar-General Manager in July 2012.


Leanne Davis - Registrations Officer & Administrator

Leanne Davis joined the Board as Registrations Officer & Administrator in August 2014.